How to create a new user
- Click on your name in the top bar, then on "Team"
- Click on "Add user" in the top right corner
- Write the user's email address
- Assign Access and Permissions (Learn about Access & Permissions below)
- Choose which groups the user should be part of (Learn about Groups below)
- Lastly click on "Create new account"
- The user will receive a email with a link for the first log in. After 5 days the link will be obsolete. If the user hasn't logged in during this time he/she can log in via https://accounts.churchdesk.com/recover
How do I edit a user?
- Click your name in the toolbar, then "Team"
- Locate the user you want to change edit or the permissions for
- Click on "Actions" and select "Edit", or click the number in the "Rights" column
- Edit, assign or give remote access and rights to the user and click "Save" at the bottom
- When privileges have been edited, the user must log out and back in before the update takes effect
User Access & Permissions in ChurchDesk
A user is a person who can log in to one or more ChurchDesk platforms. Depending on the Access and Permissions given to the user, will be able to to access and control different parts of ChurchDesk.
- Organization Administrator
An organization administrator has access to billing, can manage all user permissions and edit the site information.
- Calendar access
Users with Calendar access can view bookings and resources for all events, as well as create private events.
- Can share events with all users
The user will be able to create and share events across all groups.
- Can edit all events
The user will have permission to edit all internal events across all groups.
- Can edit group events
Users will only have permission to edit internal events shared with groups the user is a member of.
- Can book and plan
The user can edit bookings for internal events and absences shared with groups the users is a member of.
- Can force double booking
The user can force the double booking of users and resources on events.
- Can view absences
The user can see all absences for groups they are a member of.
- Can manage absences
Users can create, edit, delete and see absences for all users across all groups. They can also manage the absence type.
- Can access sensitive information
Users with access to "sensitive information" can see, edit and delete sensitive information on events the user can view.
- People access
Users with access to People can view, add, edit and delete people, tags and segments. They can also send messages to people.
- Contributions access
Contributions access allows the user to create and manage projects, as well as view received contributions and transfers.
- Homepage editor
The user can access all tools concerning the Homepage. This includes changing the theme, and adding, editing and deleting pages.
The user can set events, files and blogs to public. This allows, for example, events to be shown on the Homepage.
Understanding Group memberships
A Group is an internal forum within the Intranet, with other users of a ChurchDesk platform. A user will automatically be granted "Member" status when assigned to a group. The user can see group activity, send and receive internal group messages, participate in a Planning task and see/upload files.
- Group member
A group member can create events, delete and edit own events. Furthermore, the user can see all the events within his/her own groups and the events he/she is reserved to
- Internal note on events
See internal note in events from own group
A group member can create, edit and delete his/her own absences
A group member can create, edit and delete own files
A group member can create, edit and delete own posts
Can assign/unassign Planning tasks to themselves within their own groups.
- Group administrator (Group Leader)
A group admin (Group leader) has the same privileges as a member, but can also do the following:
The group admin can edit, delete and see all events within the group and see the notification history
The group admin can edit, delete and see all blogposts within the group
The group admin can edit, delete and see all files within the group
The group admin can assign/unassign other users to Planning tasks
How to control Admin (Group Leader) and member status
If a user creates a new group, that user will automatically become an Admin within the group.
- Add users as members of a group (only for Admins)
Go to the "Member" button in a group and add a member. Users will also be able to apply for group membership by going to a group and clicking "Become Member".
- Add user as Admin (only for Admins)
Go to the "Member" button in a group and click the "action" button next to a member. Then, click "make admin".